TapStay vs Touch Stay

TapStay vs Touch Stay: Which Guest Experience Tool Fits Your Vacation Rental?

Both products give guests one link instead of a printed welcome book. Touch Stay is a mature, feature-rich guidebook ecosystem; TapStay is a guest portal with the guidebook and an AI Concierge inside it, plus an official NFC plaque.

Last reviewed: August 22, 2026

TapStay vs Touch Stay: quick answer

Touch Stay is a dedicated digital guidebook platform with a broad feature set — AI guidebook generation, an AI chatbot, upsell widgets, two-way messaging, scheduled email and text, and PMS integrations. TapStay is a guest-experience layer: a mobile-first guest portal that contains the guidebook and an AI Concierge grounded in the host's own saved content, reachable by link, QR or an official NFC plaque. On price, Touch Stay's setup page states a DIY subscription can be as little as US$12.50 per month after a 14-day trial, while TapStay is completely free during its Early Pilot, with full access and no credit card required. Touch Stay suits hosts who want the deepest guidebook toolkit; TapStay suits hosts who want a simple guest layer with tap, QR and link access.

The short verdict

Which one fits the job you need done?

Choose TapStay if…

You want one mobile page for the stay with an AI Concierge inside it — free during the Early Pilot, with no card.

Choose Touch Stay if…

You want the deepest dedicated guidebook toolkit — AI guidebook generation, upsell widgets, review prompts, scheduled email and text, and a long list of PMS integrations.

Biggest difference

Touch Stay is a guidebook product with communication tooling around it. TapStay is a guest portal with the guidebook inside it and an official NFC plaque as the physical way in.

Pricing & hardware

What each one actually costs.

TapStay during the Early Pilot

Free during the Early Pilot

Full access. Unlimited properties. No credit card required. Free through January 1, 2027.

No feature tiers, no per-booking fees, no guest fees and no AI-question fees.

TapStay is completely free during the Early Pilot. No credit card is required. After the pilot, you’ll choose which properties stay active; your first active property will remain free forever. We’ll give hosts advance notice before any paid pricing takes effect.

Touch Stay pricing

Touch Stay: from US$12.50/month (DIY, as stated on its setup page)

  • 14-day free trial, no credit card required.
  • Touch Stay's official setup page states a DIY subscription can be as little as US$12.50 per month.
  • The public pricing page uses a property-count calculator, so the amount varies with portfolio size.

Reviewed August 22, 2026. TapStay is completely free during its Early Pilot — but each portfolio size should still be calculated on both sides for the long term before deciding.

Full comparison

TapStay vs Touch Stay, feature by feature.

Where a capability has nuance we describe it rather than reducing it to a tick. Where a vendor does not publish something, we say so instead of guessing.

Capability comparison between TapStay and Touch Stay, reviewed August 22, 2026.
CapabilityTapStayTouch Stay
Product shape
Primary product focusGuest-experience layer: guest portal, digital guidebook and AI ConciergeDigital-guidebook platform for hosts
Guest-facing portal / appYes — mobile-first web portal per stayYes — guest-facing digital guidebook
Dedicated digital guidebookYes — the guidebook is the knowledge layer of the portalYes — this is the core product
Browser-based / no guest app installYes — no app, no guest accountYes — shared by link and QR
AI
AI guest Q&A / conciergeYes — in-portal AI Concierge grounded in the host's saved contentYes — AI Chatbot advertised
AI messaging / inbox automationNot currently a core featurePartial — two-way messaging and scheduled email/text advertised
Operations
Host unified inboxNot currently a core featurePartial — two-way messaging advertised
Online check-in / guest verificationPartial — time-gated arrival and access details; no ID verificationNot publicly stated as a verification product
Smart-lock / mobile-key integrationNot currently a core featureNot publicly stated in reviewed pages
PMS / channel managementNot currently a core feature — TapStay sits alongside your PMSIntegrations with PMS products, not a PMS itself
Guest content
Local recommendationsYes — nearby places in the portal alongside host picksYes — local recommendations advertised
Multilingual guest contentPartial — guest portal interface adapts; host content is written by the hostYes — multilingual content and translations advertised
Custom brandingPartial — property cover, gallery and theme; TapStay-branded shellYes — brandable design advertised
Access
QR accessYes — share by link or printable QRYes — QR sharing advertised
Native NFC physical plaqueYes — official NFC plaque; ordering opens after the Early PilotNo native physical plaque found in current public product documentation
Revenue
Upsells / ecommerceNot currently a core featureYes — upsell widget advertised
Pricing
Pricing transparencyYes — completely free during the Early Pilot; hosts get advance notice before any paid pricing takes effectPartial — calculator-based pricing page
Starting recurring cost$0 — free during the Early Pilot: full access, unlimited properties, no cardFrom US$12.50/month DIY, after a 14-day free trial
Per-booking / transaction feesNone — no per-booking, guest or AI-question feesNot publicly stated in reviewed pages
Hardware includedOfficial NFC plaque — ordering opens after the Early PilotNo native physical plaque found in current public product documentation

Scroll the table sideways on a phone. Product capabilities and pricing change — check each vendor’s current documentation before deciding.

Where Touch Stay is stronger

  • A deeper, more mature guidebook feature set, including an AI Guidebook Generator and AI content assistant.
  • Built-in guest communication: two-way messaging plus scheduled email and text.
  • Revenue and reputation tooling — an upsell widget, contact collection and a 5-star review pop-up.
  • A long list of PMS integrations and a data dashboard.
  • Multilingual guidebook content with translations.

Where TapStay is stronger

  • A guest-experience layer instead of a full PMS — there is very little to configure before guests benefit.
  • Completely free during the TapStay Early Pilot: full access, unlimited properties, no credit card required.
  • After the pilot, your first active property remains free forever, with the complete feature set and no credit card.
  • No per-booking fees, no guest fees and no AI-question fees.
  • Tap, QR or link access to the same portal — nothing for guests to install.
  • An official NFC plaque as the physical way in — ordering opens after the Early Pilot.
  • An in-portal AI Concierge grounded strictly in the host's own saved content, which says it does not know rather than inventing a policy.

More detail on each piece: the guest portal, the digital guidebook and the AI Concierge.

Who should choose which?

Match the tool to how you actually host.

Pick TapStay when…

  • You host one or a few properties and want the guest layer running today.
  • You want the guidebook, portal and AI answers to be the same thing.
  • You want a physical NFC plaque in the property — ordering opens after the Early Pilot.
  • You want to start free, permanently, without a card.

Pick Touch Stay when…

  • The guidebook itself is the product you are buying.
  • You want upsell widgets, review prompts and scheduled guest messaging in one tool.
  • You rely on a specific PMS integration Touch Stay already supports.
  • You want AI help writing guidebook content, not just answering with it.

Still deciding on the category rather than the vendor? Read digital guidebook vs guest portal and whether a PMS covers guest communication, or browse all TapStay alternatives.

Sources & methodology

Competitor information reviewed from official public product and pricing pages on August 22, 2026. Product capabilities and pricing can change.

TapStay is an independent product. Touch Stay is referenced for comparison only; no affiliation or endorsement is implied.

FAQ

TapStay vs Touch Stay: common questions.

Start with your first property free — forever.

The complete feature set — guest portal, digital guidebook and AI Concierge — on your first active property, with no credit card.